At the Edge of the Woods (A Lew Ferris Mystery #3) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
At the Edge of the Woods (A Lew Ferris Mystery #3) By Victoria Houston Cover Image
$31.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the A Lew Ferris Mystery series.

Description


Someone is murdering pickleball players in Loon Lake and Sheriff Ferris is on the hunt for their killer in Victoria Houston’s third nail-biting Lew Ferris mystery, perfect for fans of Marc Cameron and Nevada Barr.

When a local pickleball player is shot in the head while practicing at an abandoned tennis court with his partner-slash-lover, Sheriff Lew Ferris suspects that the bullet was a stray shot from hunters in the area. It’s not until a second player–the first victim’s mistress and pickleball partner–is killed that Sheriff Ferris realizes this is no hunting accident. Someone is hunting people, and it’s up to her to find out who.

With the first victim’s crazed widow breathing down Lew’s neck, there’s no room to breathe, let alone to find time to appreciate the beautiful Loon Lake fall and go fishing. Adding to Sheriff Ferris’ difficulties are three pickleball players convinced someone has targeted them, someone who will do anything, even murder, to frighten them away from the courts where they play – but why?

Who is really at risk?  The pickleball players, or Lew and the people close to her?

About the Author


Victoria Houston is the author of 19 books in the Loon Lake mysteries as well as seven non-fiction books on family issues. She has been featured on the front page of The Wall Street Journal and on National Public Radio. Houston lives, writes and fishes in northern Wisconsin.

Praise For…


Praise for At the Edge of the Woods:
“Fans will appreciate the emphasis on the Northwoods and the peace and tranquility of fly-fishing.”
Library Journal

“A rollicking comedy of errors combines mystery and romance.”
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for the Lew Ferris Mystery series:

Wolf Hollow draws you in like a trout to a perfectly cast fly. Victoria Houston is a master storyteller.”
—Marc Cameron, New York Times bestselling author of the Arliss Cutter Mysteries

“Houston keeps you hooked from the very first page not only with compelling twists and turns but also with the richly drawn residents of Loon Lake. Readers may come for the murder, but they’ll stay for these engaging characters. At turns atmospheric, heart-warming and intensely gripping, Wolf Hollow is a must-read!"
—Brianna Labuskes, bestselling author of Her Final Words

“This mystery manages to be both heart-warming and scary—a terrific trick. Highly recommended.”
—Mary Logue, author of the Claire Watkins mysteries and The Streel, on Wolf Hollow

“Houston’s loving portrayals of the continuing cast members and the wild Wisconsin settings add up to a charming read.”
Kirkus Reviews

"A master of juxtaposing nature’s beauty with humanity’s ugliness."
Publishers Weekly

“This is a winner.”
San Francisco Book Review, on Wolf Hollow

“Houston offers smooth and lively action and insight . . .  A solid and relaxing traditional mystery.”
New York Journal of Books, on Hidden in the Pines

“[A] 'whodunnit' novel of impressive originality . . . for readers with an interest in police procedurals and small town fiction.”
Midwest Book Review, on Hidden in the Pines


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639106530
ISBN-10: 1639106537
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2024
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: A Lew Ferris Mystery