Nightbloom (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Nightbloom By Peace Adzo Medie Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


From the author of Reese's Book Club Pick His Only Wife, this moving novel about the unbreakable power of female friendship follows two estranged women in Ghana who reconnect in a crisis.

When Selasi and Akorfa were young girls in Ghana, they were more than just cousins; they were inseparable. Selasi was exuberant and funny, Akorfa quiet and studious. They would do anything for each other, imploring their parents to let them be together, sharing their secrets and desires and private jokes.

Then Selasi begins to change, becoming hostile and quiet; her grades suffer; she builds a space around herself, shutting Akorfa out. Meanwhile, Akorfa is ac-cepted to an American university with the goal of becoming a doctor.  Although hopeful that America will afford her opportunities not available to her in Ghana, she discovers the insidious ways that racism places obstacles in her path once in Pittsburgh. It takes a crisis to bring the friends back together, with Selasi’s secret revealed and Akorfa forced to reckon with her role in their estrangement.

A riveting depiction of class and family in Ghana, a compelling exploration of memory, and an eye-opening story of life as an African-born woman in the US, Nightbloom is above all a gripping and beautifully written novel attesting to the necessity of female bonds in the face of societies that would silence them. This assured follow-up to Peace Adzo Medie’s much-heralded debut is perfect for readers of The Girl with the Louding Voice, Americanah, and Of Women and Salt.
 

About the Author


Peace Adzo Medie’s debut novel, His Only Wife, was a New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice, a New York Times Notable Book of 2020, and a Time Magazine Must-Read Book of 2020. It was also a Reese’s Book Club pick. Her book, Global Norms and Local Action: The Campaigns to End Violence Against Women in Africa, was published by Oxford University Press in 2020. She has won numerous awards for her scholarship and has held several fellowships, including the Oxford-Princeton Global Leaders Fellowship. She holds a PhD in public and international affairs from the University of Pittsburgh and a BA in geography from the University of Ghana.

This author is represented by the Hachette Speakers Bureau.
 

Praise For…


“Evocative . . . [Medie] immerse[s] the reader in the details of these two otherwise ordinary lives . . . The shifts in perspective—from Akorfa’s to Selasi’s to a short final section narrated in the third person—add tension and dramatic irony.”—New York Times Book Review

“Nightbloom is a book about secrets; not just the ones passed between sister-cousins giggling in the dark, but the kinds our families require us to keep, the ones that reshape the landscape of who we become. In this stunning novel, Akorfa and Selasi share common wounds inflicted by the same adults who have vowed to care for them, but those wounds wield drastically different results in each woman. In these pages, Medie has achieved a symphonic feat, weaving a delicate narrative of multivocal familial history, where sameness and difference, sisterhood and division, salve and destruction walk hand in hand on a journey that feels both achingly familiar in its scope, yet fresh and utterly new in its telling.”—Destiny O. Birdsong, author of Nobody’s Magic

“Peace Adzo Medie is the doyenne of the emotional plot twist. Just when you're sure you've figured it out, she reminds you there are two sides to every story. A book to read and then find someone to discuss it with.”—Chibundu Onuzo, author of Sankofa

“Medie focuses on the complex relationship between two Ghanaian women in this poignant outing… [and] keenly explores the nuances of the women’s friendship and their misplaced blame. This is worth a look.”—Publishers Weekly

“Medie’s first novel, His Only Wife, was a knockout and her sophomore venture doesn’t disappoint. Focused on friendship, secrets, courage and truth, Nightbloom addresses complex issues with nuance, candor and tenderness.”—Ms. Magazine

“A powerful portrayal of class, family, and female bonds in Ghana and the US.”—SheReads

"A blistering story, written with razor sharp precision and characters who feel so real, it's like they're watching you all the while you're reading. I loved the themes of family, miscommunication and how there are two sides, if not maybe more, to every story."—Huma Qureshi, author of Things We Do Not Tell the People We Love

"Masterfully explores the complicated relationship between two childhood friends. I love the way it combines geographic range with deep intimacy. I highly recommend it."
 —Ayesha Harruna Attah, author of The Hundred Wells of Salaga

"Everyday heartbreaks and mercies are laid bare in Peace Adzo Medie’s poignant, candid, and heartfelt Nightbloom."—Sefi Atta, author of The Bad Immigrant

"Peace Adzo Medie returns with a formidable exploration of friendship and the intricacies of the relationships that shape us. Told by two bright voices, Nightbloom is a journey that spans years and explores a different truths along a parallel journey. Touching, bold and thought-provoking, this story is one everyone should read.”—Onyi Nwabineli, author of Someday, Maybe

"Medie's remarkable skills are on display here. She explores weighty themes with a deftness of touch, and there is a vitality to her writing that makes us believe she's a credible witness to the lives her characters live."—Chika Unigwe, author of On Black Sisters Street

“[A] bold exploration of a friendship gone awry.”—GMA.com

“A captivating novel that delves into the complexities of female relationships and the societal challenges that seek to suppress women's voices.”—The Messenger

“Thought-provoking and beautifully told.”—Booklist

“A hilarious and heartbreaking dual narrative from the perspectives of two cousins who have differing memories of their upbringing.”—Richland Library

Named a Most Anticipated Book of Spring/Summer 2023 by ELLEEssence, and SheReads


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643756301
ISBN-10: 1643756303
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English